Short description

Danish/American cellist Jonathan Algot-Swensen perfoms the exquisite Rococo Variations while the evening concludes with the heart wrenching Symphony No. 6 “Pathetique”. This is Tchaikovsky at his best.

Mozart – Overture to The Abduction from the Seraglio
Tchaikovsky – Rococo Variations
Tchaikovsky – Symphony No. 6 “Pathetique”

Soloist: Jonathan Algot-Swensen, cello
Conductor: Olivier Ochanine

Contrasting works of the same composer often show us the extent to which music can be created from an endless array of sound palettes.  The exquisite Rococo Variations and the Pathétique of Tchaikovsky show this well, and young and passionate Danish cellist Jonathan Algot-Swensen helps to prove this as he joins us and makes his Vietnam debut with the Sun Symphony Orchestra.  Winner of the First Prize in the 2018 Young Concert Artists International Auditions, Swensen is quickly building an international reputation as a musician of refreshing artistry and of the highest caliber. The concert opens with an overture from one of Tchaikovsky’s favorite composers – Mozart.

Photo Courtesy of Matt Dine

How to arrive | Find out more

Prepare for the concert | Find out more

At the concerts | Find out more

You don’t know how to Buy a Ticket

We kindly ask for your patience.
This function is currently under construction.