Short description

The talented Spanish pianist, Ivan Martin performs the iconic masterpiece, Concerto No. 5 “Emperor” by Ludwig van Beethoven. Other works on the program include Wagner’s Prelude to Die Meistersinger and the beautiful symphonic poem Les Preludes of Liszt.

Wagner – Prelude to Die Meistersinger
Liszt – Les Preludes
Beethoven – Piano Concerto No. 5 “Emperor”

Soloist: Ivan Martin, piano
Conductor: Olivier Ochanine

The Sun Symphony Orchestra officially launches its first season with the monumental Emperor Concerto of Beethoven in what is bound to be a regal start to the orchestra’s first public performance season. Spanish pianist Ivan Martin is known for his poetic interpretations of the classics, and the audience is in for a treat as he gives a fresh take on one of the most famous piano works of all time. Maestro Ochanine and the SSO give concert goers a grand introduction to the new season with Wagner’s dazzling overture to Die Meistersinger and the beautiful symphonic poem Les Preludes of Liszt.

Born in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria (Spain), Ivan Martin is nowadays recognized by critics and audiences as one of the most brilliant pianists of his generation.

He collaborates regularly with Spanish orchestras as well as the London Philharmonic Orchestra, Konzerthausorchester Berlin, Orchestre de Paris, Helsinki Philharmonic, Praga Virtuosi, Polish Chamber Orchestra, Sinfonia Varsovia, Sao Paulo Symphony, Santiago de Chile Symphony, etc.

He has been invited to perform at the “New York International Keyboard Festival” (EE.UU.), “Orford International Music Festival” (Canada), “Festival International La Roque d’Anthéron” (Francia), “Festival International La Folle Journée” (France and Spain), “Festival Internacional de Grandes Pianistas” (Chile), “Festival Internacional Cervantino” (Mexico), “International Music Festival Macao” (China), “Festival Internacional de Música y Danza de Granada” (España), or “Festival de Música de Canarias” (España), visiting the most prestigious concert halls around the World, such as the Berliner Staatsoper, Berliner Philharmonie, Amsterdam Concertgebouw, Salle Pleyel (Paris), New York Carnegie Hall or Beijing National Center for Performing Arts.

Engaged with the musical creation, Iván Martín has featured several premieres by composers such as Antón García Abril, Cristóbal Halffter, Pedro Halffter, Pilar Jurado, Ramón Paús and, more recently, Enric Palomar and Michael Nyman whom he has premiered their piano concertos. He has recently made his debut as a conductor with several orchestras such as “Real Filharmonia de Santiago” and “Orquesta Sinfónica de Castilla y León”, and founded “Galdós Ensemble”, a new and versatile orchestral group.

How to arrive | Find out more

Prepare for the concert | Find out more

At the concerts | Find out more

You don’t know how to Buy a Ticket

We kindly ask for your patience.
This function is currently under construction.